How do you know if Worcestershire sauce is gluten-free?
All of the ingredients are naturally gluten-free, so the sauce should be gluten-free. It all depends on the brand of Worcestershire sauce you buy. Even though the sauce does not contain any gluten, it is not always gluten-free. Some brands put soy sauce in their Worcestershire sauce, which is not gluten-free.
Gluten-free. See nutrition information for sodium content. Cholesterol free. 80% less sodium than soy sauce (Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce contains 65 mg of sodium per 1 tsp serving.
French's® Worcestershire Sauce is gluten-free, dairy-free, kosher and free from high fructose corn syrup, peanuts and tree nuts.
It also has a lot less salt than soy sauce, and is naturally gluten-free. In the same way that soy sauce is, coconut aminos are a good substitute for Worcestershire in equal measure as the original condiment—and by using them, you can better control the added salt in your finished dish.
Ingredients. The original Worcestershire sauce included barley malt vinegar, making it unsafe for someone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. However, there are many different versions of Worcestershire sauce, including gluten-free versions.
Traditional soy sauce is made with wheat, making it unsafe for people with Celiac disease. However, tamari soy sauce is gluten-free and OK to eat if you have Celiacs.
Ketchup doesn't contain wheat, barley, or rye. As such, it's a naturally gluten-free product. However, some brands may use wheat-derived vinegar or produce their ketchup in a facility that manufactures other gluten-containing foods, which may contaminate it.
Mayonnaise or “mayo” is typically made from naturally gluten-free ingredients: eggs, oil, vinegar, lemon and sometimes mustard/mustard seed or other spices. Mayo brands that have a gluten-free label have passed thorough testing and are safe to eat for people with celiac disease.
Despite its name, soy sauce is not made solely from soy in many cases. Instead, soy sauce is usually made with wheat, soybeans, salt and water, which means most soy sauces contain gluten. However, some soy sauces are gluten-free, making these varieties an option even if you're on a gluten-free diet.
This brand from Walmart shares on their website that this is a gluten-free product. Although I didn't see a gluten-free label on the product itself, the only place the gluten may be hiding is in the distilled white vinegar, the caramelized sugar syrup, and natural flavor.
How do you know if something is really gluten-free?
Most companies have a list of gluten-free products or a policy on allergen labeling. If not, ask if the product contains any wheat, barley, rye, or oats, or if any of its ingredients or additives contain or are made from any of those grains.
Foods that contain wheat, barley, rye or triticale — or an ingredient derived from them — must be labeled with the name of the grain in the label's content list. Foods that are labeled gluten-free, according to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration rules, must have fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten.